P.P. Chapters 1-3: Goodbye Childhood

31 Mar

As I began reading J.M. Barrie’s novel, I couldn’t help but compare it to the Disney film adaptation I saw (and loved) as a child. (I know there is a specific term within the literary analysis world, but for the life of me I can’t remember it at the moment.) It was surprising to see how much the Disney movie left out.

The biggest element I’m referring to – and I don’t know if you felt the same way, Lauren – was the mention of getting rid of Wendy (whether through abortion or adoption/abandonment I couldn’t decide) and even John and Michael due to the family’s poor financial situation (Barrie 5). Obviously, Disney could not have included mention of this in the movie. I feel as if the Darlings’ financial situation was a greater influence in the book than it was in the movie. If I remember correctly, the kids (but particularly Wendy) reaching an age of maturity was given more emphasis (which makes sense when they reach Neverland but ultimately decide to leave).

I feel I’m getting too far ahead in the story I think I know rather than discussing the little bit we read. Another element which I noted was the personalities of both Peter and Wendy. Both come across as more mischievous than in the movie. Peter has the full intention of talking up Neverland and the Lost Boys in order to convince Wendy to come and visit them; taking along John and Michael is a necessary evil so as to make her feel secure. Wendy, on the other hand, takes advantage of Peter’s naivete about relationships for her gain.

One more thing before I go: what’s the deal with Peter’s (and the Lost Boys) origin story? Did you find it weird that they all started off somewhere in London and then traveled to Neverland later on? Or was that just me? (My mind started going crazy with this strange notion that they’re all dead – hence the reason they can never grow up – but I know that’s not possible.)

What did you think of the first three chapters?

Leave a Reply

